Newcastle and district amateur football league

About the NADAFL

The first meeting of the Newcastle Winter League, later to become the Newcastle and District Amateur Football League, was held in the Pavilion, Donard Park, on Friday, August 31, 1956. Representatives from eight teams were present and when the first games were played on September 15 that year 10 teams were in the starting line-up.

WL Chambers of Rathkeltair presented the Donard Dairy Shield to be presented to the League champions and the first winners were Annalong Rangers. In 1993 former chairman Gordon Bell, on retiring from the League, presented the Rathmourne Cup for the Premier League champions.

The first chairman was Robert Dalzell, known to all as Bobby, and his name and service to the League are commemorated by the trophy bearing his name which is traditionally competed for on Boxing Day. The Harry Clarke Cup also commemorates another League stalwart and in recent years has provided the finale to the season.

Over the years the number of member teams rose to peak at around 50 and at present 37 teams are competing in three sections, Premier, Division One and Two

Newcastle and district amateur football league
powered by Sportlomo